Nominees Announced for the 2018 Southern California Tag-Team of the Year Award

SoCal Uncensored Thumbnail

The nominees for the 2018 Southern California Tag-Team of the Year Award have been released and the web poll voting is now open. This year’s group of eight includes three prior winners and four first time nominees.

The three prior winners of the award that are returning to the ballot in 2018 are True Grit (2017), PPRay (2013), and RockNES Monsters (2010 and 2011). If RockNES Monsters win the award, they will join the Young Bucks as the only teams to have won the award three or more times. Additionally, the team of Rico Dynamite and Che Cabrera has been nominated for the award for the third straight year.

This year’s first-time nominees are Reno Scum, DoomFly, Violence Unlimited, and Warbeast. DoomFly’s Eli Everfly and Violence Unlimited’s Tyler Bateman could become the first former Southern California Wrestler of the Year to win the Tag-Team award since 2006, and fourth overall, if either of their teams wins the award.

Here is the full list of nominees for the 2018 Southern California Tag-Team of the Year:

  • DoomFly (Eli Everfly & Delilah Doom)
  • PPRay (Ray Rosas & Peter Avalon)
  • Reno Scum (Adam Thornstowe & Luster the Legend)
  • Rico Dynamite & Che Cabrera
  • RockNES Monsters (Yuma & Kevin Martenson)
  • True Grit (Jesse James & Hoss Hogg)
  • Violence Unlimited (Tyler Bateman & Brody King)
  • Warbeast (Fatu & Josef)

The web poll is now open and will be until January 9, 2019.

Previous winners:
Southern California Tag-Team of the Year

The Southern California Year End Awards started in 1999, on and were taken over by starting in 2001. The awards are largely recognized as one of the most prestigious awards in independent wrestling and have been referenced in national and international wrestling media. The voting for the awards consists of two parts: a public web poll worth 35% of the total vote and balloting by a committee of voters, which is worth 65% of the total.

The 2018 Southern California Pro-Wrestling Awards winners will be announced on January 22, 2019.

About the Author

Steve Bryant
Fan of Godzilla.