First Nominees Announced and Poll Open for the 2018 Southern California Match of the Year Award

SoCal Uncensored Thumbnail

The first group of nominees, covering January through April, for the 2018 Southern California Pro-Wrestling Match of the Year Award have been announced. The web poll portion of the voting is open now.

The first group of sixteen nominees consists of matches from eight different promotions, including seven from PWG, two from Bar Wrestling and Lucha Underground, and one each from AWS, Ground Zero, New Japan Pro Wrestling, PCW Ultra, and WWE.

The first group of nominees for the 2018 Southern California Match of the Year are:

  • Chosen Bros (Jeff Cobb & Matt Riddle) over WALTER & Timothy Thatcher – PWG – Jan. 12
  • ACH over Rey Fenix – PCW Ultra – Jan. 19
  • Tyler Bateman over Jake Atlas – AWS – Jan. 27
  • Eli Everfly over Suede Thompson – Ground Zero – February 3
  • Keith Lee over Matt Riddle – PWG – February 16
  • John Cena over AJ Styles – WWE – February 27
  • Lucha Brothers (Penta El Zero M & Rey Fenix) over LAX (Ortiz & Santana) – Bar Wrestling – March 8
  • Brian Cage over Eli Everfly – Lucha Underground – March 10
  • Pentagon Dark over Marty The Moth Martinez – Lucha Underground – March 17
  • Will Ospreay over Adam Brooks – PWG – March 23
  • Zack Sabre Jr. over Matthew Riddle – PWG – March 23
  • Golden Lovers (Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi) over Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson) – New Japan – March 25
  • Brian Cage over Douglas James – Bar Wrestling – April 12
  • Ring Kampf (Walter & Timothy Thatcher) over Violence Unlimited (Brody King & Tyler Bateman) – PWG – April 20
  • Taiji Ishimori over Bandido – PWG – April 20
  • Bandido over Rey Horus – PWG – April 21

The web poll is open now and will be open until December 19.

The second Match of the Year web poll covering May through August will open on December 12 and the third web poll covering September through December will open in early January.

Previous Winners:
Southern California Match of the Year

The Southern California Year End Awards started in 1999, on and were taken over by starting in 2001. The awards are largely recognized as one of the most prestigious awards in independent wrestling and have been referenced in national and international wrestling media. The voting for the awards consists of two parts: a public web poll worth 35% of the total vote and balloting by a committee of voters, which is worth 65% of the total.

About the Author
The authority on wrestling and MMA in Southern California since 2001.