UFC – 04 August 2018 – Quick Results

T.J. Dillashaw defeated Cody Garbrandt to retain the UFC Bantamweight Championship in the main event of UFC 227: Dillashaw vs Garbrandt 2 at Staples Center in Los Angeles, CA. Also on the card, Henry Cejudo defeated Demetrious Johnson to become the new UFC Flyweight Champion. Click for results.

Ultimate Fighting Championship
UFC 227: Dillashaw vs Garbrandt 2
August 4th, 2018
Staples Center
Los Angeles, CA
Attendance: 17,794
Gate: $2,848,928.68

*All bouts were sanctioned by the California State Athletic Commission (CSAC).*
Early Prelims (Streamed live on UFC Fight Pass)

Marlon Vera (MMA Record: 10–5–1) defeated Wuliji Buren (MMA Record: 11-5) via T.K.O. (Strikes) at 4:53 of Round 2. Vera improves to 11-5-1. Buren falls to 11-6.

Weili Zhang (MMA Record: 16-1) defeated Danielle Taylor (MMA Record: 9-3) via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28). Zhang improves to 17-1. Taylor falls to 9-4.

Alex Perez (MMA Record: 20-4) (126 lbs) defeated Jose Torres (MMA Record: 8-0) via K.O. (Punches) at 3:36 of Round 1. Perez improves to 21-4. Torres falls to 8-0.

Prelim Bouts (Aired live on FX)

Sheymon Moraes (MMA Record: 9-2) defeated Matt Sayles (MMA Record: 7-1) via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)). Moraes improves to 10-2. Sayles falls to 7-2.

Ricardo Ramos (MMA Record: 11-1) defeated. Kang Kyung-ho (MMA Record: 14–7 (1 NC)) via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28). Ramos improves to 12-2. Kyung-ho falls to 14-7 (1 NC).

Ricky Simon (MMA Record: 13-1) defeated Montel Jackson (MMA Record: 6-0) via Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28). Simon improves to 14-1. Jackson falls to 6-1.

Pedro Munhoz (MMA Record: 15-3 (1) defeated Brett Johns (MMA Record: 15-1) via Unanimous Decision (30-26, 29-28, 29-27). Munhoz improves to 16-3 (1). Johns falls to 15-2.

Main Card (Aired live on Pay-Per-View)

Thiago Santos (MMA Record: 17-6) defeated Kevin Holland (MMA Record: 12-3) via Unanimous Decision (29-27, 29-27, 30-26). Santos improves to 18-6. Holland falls to 12-4.

JJ Aldrich (MMA Record: 6–2) defeated Polyana Viana (MMA Record: 10-1) via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27). Aldrich improves to 7-2. Viana falls to 10-2.

Renato Moicano (MMA Record: 12–1–1) defeated Cub Swanson (MMA Record: 25–9) via Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:15 of Round 1. Moicano improves to 13-1-1. Swanson falls to 25-10.

Henry Cejudo (MMA Record: 12-2) defeated Demetrious Johnson (MMA Record: 27-2-1) via Split Decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47) to become the new UFC Flyweight Champion. Cejudo improves to 13-2. Johnson falls to 27-3-1.

T.J. Dillashaw (MMA Record: 15-3) defeated Cody Garbrandt (MMA Record: 11-1) via T.K.O. (Strokes) to retain the UFC Bantamweight Championship. Dillashaw improves to 16-3. Garbrandt falls to 11-2.

  • Demetrious Johnson’s title defense was his 12th as UFC Flyweight Champion.
  • Henry Cejudo becomes the 2nd person to hold the UFC Flyweight Championship.
  • T.J. Dillashaw’s title defense was the 1st of his 2nd reign as UFC Bantamweight Champion.
  • The UFC announced that 17,794 were in attendance for a gate of $2,848,928.68.
  • Cejudo vs. Johnson was awarded “Fight of the Night” by the UFC. Both fighters received a $50,000 bonus.
  • T.J. Dillashaw and Renato Moicano were awarded “Performance of the NIght” by the UFC. Both fighters received a $50,000 bonus.

About the Author

SoCal's favorite son. Won 1st Place in my division at the 2013 Gracie Worlds. 2019 East San Fernando Valley Water Champion. Keyboard Warrior.