2016 Southern California Wrestler of the Year nominations announced

SoCal Uncensored Thumbnail

At this time we would like to announce the nominations for the 2016 Southern California Wrestler of the Year. This award, largely seen as the MVP award for wrestling in Southern California, was first awarded in 1999 to Southern California Pro-Wrestling hall of famer Cincinnati Red.  Over the years since it has been won by who’s-who  of the wrestling world with wrestlers such as Christopher Daniels, Super Dragon, B-Boy, Kevin Steen (Owens), El Generico (Sami Zayn), Joey Ryan, Ricochet, and Adam Cole taking home the award.

The nominees for the 2016 Southern California Wrestler of the Year are:

  • “Uptown” Andy Brown
  • B-Boy
  • Jeff Cobb / Matanza Cueto
  • Lil’ Cholo / Mr. Cisco / Mala Suerte
  • Marty Scurll
  • Mike Camden
  • Pentagon Jr.
  • “Pretty” Peter Avalon
  • Ray Rosas
  • Scorpio Sky
  • Tyler Bateman

The Southern California Year End Awards started in 1999 on SoCal-Wrestling.com and were taken over by SoCalUncensored.com starting in 2001. The awards are largely recognized as one of the most prestigious awards in indy wrestling and have been referenced in national and international media. The voting for the awards consists of two parts; a public webpoll worth 35% of the total vote and balloting by a committee of voters that is worth 65% of the total.

Webpoll voting is now open for the year end awards on the SoCalUncensored.com message board and will be open until January 18th. All 2016 award winners will be announced on January 26, 2017.

Southern California Wrestler of the Year

About the Author

Steve Bryant
Fan of Godzilla.